Lawan, Akande head APC reconciliatory committee

0 254

To resolve the festering crisis within the party across some states, the All Progressives Congress (APC) has constituted a ten-member National Reconciliation Committee.

The reconciliation committee is headed by the President of Senate, Ahmed Lawan, and former interim chairman of the party, Bisi Akande as the vice chairman of the committee.

The development is a fallout of the resolution of the National Executive Committee (NEC) meeting held at the party’s National Secretariat in November.

According to a statement released by the APC spokesperson, Lanre Issa-Onilu, “The Committee is empowered to address grievances of party members and resolve existing conflicts, all with a view to fostering unity and oneness within the party.”

This development is coming barely 48-hour after the party lifted a controversial suspension on five key members.

The five members whose suspension were lifted include the Ondo State Governor, Rotimi Akeredolu; ex-Ogun governor, Ibikunle Amosun; ex-Imo governor, Rochas Okorocha; the DG of Voice of Nigeria, Osita Okechukwu; and a former Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Usani Uguru.

The party is also battling a raging political fire in Edo, the home state of its chairman, Adams Oshiomhole, where there is a battle of supremacy between him and his estranged protégé, Governor Godwin Obaseki.

Meanwhile, among the five members ‘pardoned’, only Okechukwu has reacted to the development. Messrs Akeredolu, Amosun, and Rochas are yet to issue any statement in relation to this.

Other members of the committee include the Deputy Speaker, House of Representatives, Idris Wase; Tanko Al-Makura (a senator); Kashim Shettima; Minister of State for Environment, Sharon Ikeazor; Aliko Koki; Khairat Gwadabe-Abdulrazak and Binta Garba. John Enoh will function as the secretary.

The date for the inauguration has not been fixed.

Read Similar Posts:



Click one of our representatives below to chat on WhatsApp or send us an email to

× How can I help you?