Plane crash: Air Force names victims

0 193

The Nigeria Air Force, NAF, has released the names of officers involved in plane crash that occurred on Sunday in Abuja.

Beechcraft Kingair B350i aircraft en route Minna in Niger State had crashed close to the runway of the Abuja airport after suffering engine failure.

NAF spokesman, Ibikunle Daramola who released the names of those involved in the crash said seven officers were killed.

In a  statement issued by Daramola the officers involved are; Flight Lieutenant Haruna Gadzama (Captain), Flight Lieutenant Henry Piyo (Co-pilot), Flying Officer Micheal Okpara (Airborne Tactical Observation System specialist).

Others included Flight Sergeant Olasunkanmi Olawunmi (ATOS specialist), Sergeant Ugochukwu Oluka (ATOS specialist), Aircraftman Adewale Johnson (Onboard Technician) and Warrant Officer Bassey Etim (ATOS specialist).

Daramola also said the Chief of the Air Staff, Air Vice Marshal Oladayo Amao, has ordered an immediate investigation into the crash.

“This is to confirm that a Nigerian Air Force Beechcraft KingAir B350i aircraft crashed while returning to the Abuja Airport after reporting engine failure enroute Minna. First responders are at the scene. Sadly, all 7 personnel on board died in the crash.

“The Chief of the Air Staff, Air Vice Marshal IO Amao, has ordered an immediate investigation into the incident, he said.

The CAS, on behalf of all NAF personnel, commiserates with the families of the deceased while urging the general public to remain calm and await the outcome of investigation.

Read More  NAF Alpha jet neutralises insurgents in Borno

 218 total views

Need Help? Chat with us