Saraki loses senatorial seat to APC

0 285

Senate President Bukola Saraki has lost the senatorial contest in his district as the results from local government in the senatorial district shows.

Saraki lost his reelection bid into the Senate from Kwara Central on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party to Dr. Oloriegbe of the All Progressives Congress, in Saturday’s Senatorial election.

Oloriegbe polled a total of 123,808 votes to defeat the Senate President who scored 68,994 votes in the four local governments of Kwara Central Senatorial District.

President Muhammadu Buhari also won the presidential contest in the Senate President’s senatorial district with 52, 200 votes while Atiku Abubakar polled 28, 111.

Saraki lost Asa, Ilorin South, Ilorin East, and Ilorin West Local Government Areas.

Result announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission Sunday evening showed that in Ilorin West, APC polled 51, 531 while the PDP polled 30,075.

The number of registered voters were 224, 494. While accredited voters were 91,130.

The senate President who is also the Director General of the Atiku Campaign Team failed to deliver his local government to the PDP in the Saturday presidential election.

Similarly, the Kwara State Governor, Abdulfatah Ahmed, also failed to deliver his own local government to the PDP presidential candidate.

Saraki hails from Agbaji quarters, Ilorin West Local Government Area of Kwara State while Governor Ahmed is from Share in Ifelodun Local Government.

Saraki had earlier won his polling unit and delivered same for the PDP presidential candidate. But in the presidential result announced for Ilorin West local government, President Muhammadu Buhari of the APC floored Abubakar in the local government.

According to the official result announced for the local government Sunday evening, Buhari polled 52, 200 while Abubakar polled 28, 111.

Read Similar Posts:

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.