UPDATE: Buhari wins presidential election for second term

0 370

The candidate of the All Progressive Congress, Muhammadu Buhari has been declared the winner of the February 23, 2019 presidential election. He has emerged for second term in office.

Muhammadu Buhari polled a total votes of 15,191,847 to defeat his closest contender, Atiku Abubakar  who polled the total votes of 11,262,978.

Announcing the result and declaration of the winner at the National Collation Centre in Abuja, chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission, Professor Mahmood Yakubu said Buhari has satisfied the requirement of the law by polling the highest votes was declared the winner and returned elected as president of the federal Republic of Nigeria.

With the figure released by INEC at the national collation on Wednesday morning, the incumbent President has more than 25 per cent of the election in over 24 states.

He also defeated his closest rival with 3,928,869 votes.

Jubilation over Buhari’s victory

Atiku also had 25 per cent of the total votes cast in over 24 states but lost the poll when the simple majority rule condition is applied.

While President Buhari won in 19 states, Atiku won in 17 states and the FCT.

The states Buhari won are Katsina, Kebbi, Kogi, Kwara, Lagos, Nasarawa, Niger, Ogun, Osun, Sokoto, Yobe, Zamfara, Bauchi, Borno, Ekiti, Gombe, Jigawa, Kaduna and Kano.

Atiku won in Cross River, Delta, Ebonyi, Edo, Enugu, Imo, Ondo, Oyo, Plateau, Rivers, Taraba, Abia, Adamawa, Akwa Ibom, Anambra, Bayelsa, Benue and the Federal Capital Territory.

Muhammadu Buhari’s victory is not unexpected in view of his popularity in the northern part of the country. Buhari got the highest votes of 1,464,768 and 1, 232.133 in Kano and Kastina states respectively.

Read Similar Posts:

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.