Polls: Sanwo-Olu, Abiodun, Makinde, Abdulrazaq, Ihedioha win

0 332

Babajide Sanwo-Olu, was on Sunday declared winner of Saturday’s governorship election in Lagos State.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) announced also frontline businessman AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq as winner in Kwara State.

Inuwa Yahaya won in Gombe State. Dapo Abiodun carried the day in Ogun State. His victory was announced at 1am. The governors-elect ran on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

The electoral umpire also announced Seyi Makinde, Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi and Ihedioha of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) as winners of the governorship elections in Oyo, Enugu and Imo states.

The results from many of the states were still being collated by the electoral umpire.

Sanwo-Olu, two-time commissioner in Lagos, polled 739,445 to beat his closest rival, Jimi Agbaje of the PDP, who polled 206, 141.

The defeat is the third to be suffered by Agbaje in Lagos state.

His first was in 2007 as the Progressives Action Congress (PAC) candidate. He lost to Babatunde Fashola of the Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN). He also lost to incumbent Governor Akinwunmi Ambode of the APC in 2015 as the PDP candidate.

Agbaje called Sanwo-Olu to concede defeat at 7.07pm, shortly after the APC candidate was declared governor-elect.

In Kwara, AbdulRazaq was declared the winner of the election after defeating his PDP rival Abdulrazak Atunwa.

 Reacting to the victory, the state chairman of the APC, Bashir Bolarinwa, said it was a victory for all and a new dawn for the people.

In Gombe state APC’s Inuwa Yahaya was declared governor-elect with 364, 129 votes. He defeated Usman Nafada of the PDP, who scored 222,868 votes. While in Niger, incumbent Governor Abubakar Bello won 24 of the 25 local government areas of the state to defeat Umar Nasko of the PDP.

Governor Atiku Bagudu of the APC in Kebbi state was declared governor-elect in the state.

The results were announced at the Collation Centre for 2019 Governorship Election by the Collation Officer, Prof. Hamisu Bichi, in Birnin Kebbi.

He said Bagudu of APC scored 673,717 votes. Senator Isah Galaudu of the PDP polled 106,633 votes.

In south west state of Oyo the PDP candidate, Seyi Makinde was declared winer after he polled 515,621 votes to defeat, Adebayo Adelabu who polled 357,982 votes

Abiodun of the APC in Ogun state polled 241,670 votes to defeat APM’s Adekunle Akinlade who got 222,153 votes according to results announced by the INEC.

In Enugu, Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuayi was declared elected to retain his seat for the PDP after polling 449,935 to beat Senator Ayogu Eze of the APC, who reportedly boycotted the election. He came a distant second with 10,423.

The Enugu State Collation Officer, Prof Joseph Ahaneku, the Vice Chancellor, Nnamdi Azikiwe University, declared Ugwuanyi as duly elected after winning in all 17 council areas.

Also in Abia state, incumbent Governor Okezie Ikpeazu was returned governor-elect after defeating his APC challenger Uche Ogah with 261, 127 votes to 99, 574.

In Imo State, Emeka Ihedioha of People Democratic Party defeated Uche Nwosu of Action Alliance with 273,404 votes to 190,364.

In the Northern state of Jigawa the incumbent Governor, Alhaji Muhammad Badaru won the gubernatorial election conducted in the state on Saturday.

The Returning Officer for the governorship election in Jigawa, Prof, Azubike Nwankwo, Provost, Nigeria Defence Academy Kaduna declared the result in Dutse on Sunday.

Nwankwo said that Badaru, who contested on the platform of All Progressives Congress (APC), was returned elected with 810, 933 votes to beat his closest rival, Alhaji Aminu Ringim, who scored 288, 356 votes, followed by Alhaji Bashir Adamu of Social Democratic Party (SDP), who got 32,894 votes.

While in Ebonyi Governor David Umahi retained his seat in the state for the PDP after polling 393, 343 votes to beat APC’s Sonni Ogbuoji, who got 81,703.

Declaring the result at the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), State Headquarters in Abakaliki, the State Returning Officer, Prof Chukwuemeka Eze, said the governor garnered 393,343 across 13 local government areas in the state.

Read Similar Posts:

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.