Senate Principal Officers named

0 314

The President of the Senate, Ahmed Lawan, on Tuesday, announced the names of eight principal officers for both the All Progressives Congress (APC) and the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Lawan named Senator Abdullahi Yahaya from Kebbi as Senate Leader and Ajayi Boroffice from Ondo as his deputy while Senator Orji Uzor Kalu, ex Abia state governor was named as Chief Whip and Senator Sabi Abdullahi from Niger as the deputy.

Also, Senator Enyinnaya Abaribe from Abia state is the new Senate minority leader, while Senator Emmanuel Bwacha from Taraba is the deputy minority leader. Senator Philip Tanimu Aduda (FCT) is the minority whip and Senator Sahabi Ya’u is the deputy minority whip.

The lawmakers form the Body of Principal Officers also known as Selection Committee and are expected to assign senators to committees based on interest earlier shown by them.

In their separate acceptance speeches, Yahaya and Abaribe promised to discharge their duties effectively.

 157 total views

Read More  The major problem for road construction is funding, says Fashola
Need Help? Chat with us