Supreme Court affirms Ikpeazu, Ishaku, Okowa’s victory

0 196

The Supreme Court has upheld the electoral victory of the governors of Abia, Delta, Taraba and Niger states in the 2019 governorship election.

The apex court dismissed the appeal filed by candidate of the All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA) in Abia State, Alex Otti, which sought to unseat Governor Okezie Ikpeazu of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Delivering a lead judgement, Justice Hamiru Sanusi held that Otti’s appeal lacked merit and was liable for dismissal.

Other Justices on the panel agreed with the opinion of Justice Sanusi on the matter.

The Owerri division of the Appeal Court had dismissed the appeal of Otti and declared Governor Ikpeazu as the validly elected.

The Appeal Court had upheld the judgement of the Election Petition Tribunal which had earlier declared Ikpeazu as the duly elected Governor of Abia State.

Other sitting governors favoured by decision of Supreme Court on Wednesday include that of

Taraba State, Darius Ishaku and Delta state, Ifeanyi Okowa.

Read Similar Posts:

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.