Ondo election update: How Rotimi Akeredolu secures second term

0 105

The people of Ondo state have reelected the incumbent Governor, Mr. Rotimi Akeredolu for the second term of 4 years in office.

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, Returning Officer for the election, Prof Idowu Olayinka at the INEC Headquarters in Akure on Sunday declared Akeredolu, the candidate of All Progressives Congress (APC) winner after polling total votes of 292,830 to beat his closest rival, the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Eyitayo Jegede who polled 195,791.

The governor who will be spending another four years term in office won in 15 of the 18 local government areas of the state while his rival, Eyitayo Jegede of the People’s Democratic Party, PDP won the remaining three within the Central Senatorial District.

Akeredolu’s deputy, Agboola Ajayi, the candidate of the Zenith Labour Party, ZLP, who polled 69,127 votes could not secure any local government.

Meanwhile, the leadership and members of the APC in the South West have congratulated Rotimi Akeredolu, members of APC in Ondo State and the entire people of the State for the victory recorded during Saturday’s October 10, 2020, gubernatorial elections.

According to a statement signed by the South West APC Zonal Publicity Secretary, Rt. Hon. Karounwi Oladapo, the Party said “the new and fresh mandate given to APC in Ondo State is an endorsement of the APC and Akeredolu’s performance in the last four years.

”It is also a challenge for improved performance during his second term. The Party, and indeed, Akeredolu, will neither disappoint nor betray the trust and confidence of the people of Ondo State.

Read More  NNPC says appointment of top management officials based on merit


Find as follows the result as declared by INEC:

Ifedore LG:

APC 9,350,

PDP 11,852,

ZLP 1.860

Irele LG

APC 12,643

PDP 5,493

ZLP 5,904

Ile-Oluji/Oke-Igbo LG

APC 13,278

PDP 9,231

ZLP 1,971

Ondo East LG

APC 6,485

PDP 4,049

ZLP 3,221

Idanre LG

APC 11,286

PDP 7,499

ZLP 3,623

Owo LG

APC 35,957

PDP 5,311

ZLP 408

Rotimi Akeredolu at the polling station
Rotimi Akeredolu at the polling station

Akoko North East LG

APC 16,572

PDP 8,380

ZLP 3,532

Akoko South West LG

APC 21,232

PDP 15,055

ZLP 2,775

Akoko North West

APC 15,809

PDP 10,320

ZLP 3,477

Akure North LG

APC 9,546

PDP 12,263

ZLP 1,046

Akoko South East LG

APC 9,419

PDP 4,033

ZLP 2,055

Akure South LG

APC 17,277

PDP 47,627

ZLP 2,236

Ose LG

APC 15,122

PDP 8,421

ZLP 1,083

Okitipupa LG

APC 19,266

PDP 10,367

ZLP 10,120

Ondo West LG

APC 15,977

PDP 10,627

ZLP 10,159

Odigbo LG

APC 23,571

PDP 9,485

ZLP 6,540


APC 36,675

PDP 11,128

ZLP 4405

Ese Odo

APC 13,383

PDP 4,680

ZLP 4,760

 126 total views

Need Help? Chat with us